graphical header showing various types of workers

External Advisory Board

Members of the External Advisory Board share the Center’s mission of research and dissemination of effective integrated policies, programs and practices. The External Advisory Board provides guidance on project implementation to maximize their future impact, identification of key priorities for future research and education, and relationship building with other key regional and national resources.

Elizabeth Barbeau, ScD, MPH 
Founder and CEO, Race Point Consulting
Adjunct Associate Professor of Social and Behavioral Sciences, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
betsy.barbeau@gmail.com

Orfeu M. Buxton, PhD
Lecturer on Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Associate Neuroscientist, Department of Medicine Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
Associate Professor, Department of Biobehavioral Health, Pennsylvania State University
(617) 525-7118
orfeu_buxton@hms.harvard.edu

Letitia Davis, ScD
Director, Occupational Health Surveillance Program, Massachusetts Department of Public Health
(617) 624-5626
letitia.davis@state.ma.us

Frank Dobbin, PhD
Professor, Department of Sociology, Harvard University
frank_dobbin@harvard.edu

Bradley Evanoff, MD, MPH
Chief of the Division of General Medical Sciences, Department of Internal Medicine, Washington University
Richard A. & Elizabeth Henby Sutter Professor of Occupational & Environmental Medicine 
Director, Division of General Medical Sciences; Director, Institute of Clinical & Translational Sciences; Assist. Dean for Clinical & Translational Research
Washington University School of Medicine
bevanoff@dom.wustl.edu

Erin L. Kelly, PhD
Professor, Work and Organization Studies, MIT Sloan School of Management
Faculty Member, Institute for Work and Employment Research
elkelly@mit.edu

Laura Linnan, ScD
Professor, Department of Health Behavior & Health Education, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health
Director, Carolina Collaborative for Research on Work & Health
linnan@email.unc.edu

Kate McPhaul, PhD, MPH, RN
Chief Consultant of the Department of Veterans Affairs, Public Health, Occupational Health Group
kate.mcphaul@va.gov

James Merchant, MD, DrPH
Founding Dean, Professor and Director of the HWCE
College of Public Health, University of Iowa
james-merchant@uiowa.edu

Glenn Pransky, MD, MOccH
 gpranskymd@gmail.com

Margaret Quinn, ScD
Professor, Department of Work Environment, University of Massachusetts, Lowell
(978) 934-3196
margaret_quinn@uml.edu

Emily Spieler, JD
Edwin W. Hadley Professor of Law, Dean Emerita
Northeastern University School of Law

Laura Welch, MD
Medical Director, CPWR –The Center for Construction Research & Training
(301) 578-8500
lwelch@cpwr.com