graphical header showing various types of workers

Trainees

The Center promotes the mentoring and training of students, postdoctoral trainees, and junior investigators through opportunities to participate in study planning, development of manuscripts, pilot project implementation, and presenting at the Center’s works-in-progress seminar series. The Center’s prior trainees are situated in diverse locations around the world.

Current trainees

Maria Andree Lopez Gomez
Postdoctoral fellow
Projects:
Examining Pathways
Organizational Approaches to TWH for Low Wage Workers
malopez@hsph.harvard.edu

Susan Peters
Postdoctoral fellow
Projects:
Organizational Approaches to TWH for Low Wage Workers
Integrated Approaches for Driver and Crew Health and Safety in a National Transportation Company
sepeters@hsph.harvard.edu

Emily Sparer
Postdoctoral fellow
Projects:
Cancer Prevention with the Boston Fire Department
All the Right Moves
emily.sparer@mail.harvard.edu

Former trainees

Oscar Arias, MD, ScD 
Assistant Director, Southern California NIOSH-ERC
University of California, Los Angeles
oarias@ucla.edu

Alberto Cabán-Martinez, DO, PhD, MPH, CPH
Assistant Professor
University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine
acaban@med.miami.edu

Caitlin Eicher Caspi
Assistant Professor, Department of Family Medicine and Community Health
University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
cecaspi@umn.edu

Michael Grant 
Industrial Hygienist, Health Hazard Evaluations and Technical Assistance
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
mgrant@cdc.gov 

Karen Hopcia, ScD, APRN-BC, COHN-S, FAAOHN
Associate Director for Shared Services, Budget and Data Analysis
Partners HealthCare Occupational Health Services
khopcia@partners.org

David A. Hurtado, ScD
Assistant Professor, Oregon Institute of Occupational Health Sciences
Oregon Health and Science University
hurtadod@ohsu.edu

Henrik Børsting Jacobsen, PhD
Department of Circulation and Medical Imaging, Faculty of Medicine
The Norwegian University of Science and Technology
henrik.b.jacobsen@ntnu.no

Lauren Murphy, PhD
Assistant Clinical Professor, Department of Physical Therapy, Movement and Rehabilitation Sciences
Northeastern University
l.murphy@northeastern.edu

Candace Nelson, ScD
Information Access and Dissemination Manager
Massachusetts Department of Public Health
candace.nelson@massmail.state.ma.us

Silje Reme, PsyD, PhD
Department of Pain Management and Research
Oslo University Hospital, Oslo, Norway
silje_reme@dfci.harvard.edu

Erika Sabbath
Assistant Professor, Boston College Graduate School of Social Work
sabbathe@bc.edu

Grace Sembajwe, DSc, MSc
Associate Professor, Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences at Hunter College
Doctoral Programs at CUNY Graduate Center, CUNY School of Public Health at Hunter College, New York, NY
gsembajw@hunter.cuny.edu

Sonja Doris Stoeffel, PhD
Faculty, Centre for Sport & Exercise Education
Camosun College, Interurban; Pacific Institute for Sport Excellence, Victoria, BC, Canada
sonja.stoffel@gmail.com

Sara L. Tamers, PhD, MPH
Office for Total Worker Health Coordination and Research Support
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
stamers@cdc.gov

Torill Helene Tvieto, PhD
Research Group Leader
Uni Health, Uni Research, Bergen, Norway
torill.tveito@uni.no

Jessica Williams, PhD
Assistant Professor, University of Kansas Medical Center
jwilliams13@kumc.edu