graphical header showing various types of workers

Trainees

Mentoring and training tomorrow’s health and safety professionals is critical to our capacity-building efforts. Students, post-docs, and junior investigators at our Center participate in planning studies, developing manuscripts, implementing pilot projects, and presenting at the Center’s Works in Progress internal seminar series. The Center’s prior trainees contribute to the field in a wide range of settings and industries around the world.

Current trainees

Winnie Chin, ScD, MS
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
WinnieS_Chin@DFCI.HARVARD.EDU 

Former trainees

Oscar Arias, MD, ScD 
Assistant Director, Southern California NIOSH-ERC
University of California, Los Angeles
oarias@ucla.edu

Alberto Cabán-Martinez, DO, PhD, MPH, CPH
Assistant Professor
University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine
acaban@med.miami.edu

Caitlin Eicher Caspi, ScD
Associate Professor
Department of Allied Health Sciences, University of Connecticut
caitlin.caspi@uconn.edu

Ellen Connorton
Senior Science Advisor
U.S. Department of State
ellen@connorton.org

Maria Andree Lopez Gomez, MPH, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
Department of Sociology, Memorial University
malopezgomez@mun.ca

Michael Grant, ScD 
Industrial Hygienist, Health Hazard Evaluations and Technical Assistance
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
mgrant@cdc.gov 

Amy Harley
Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Academic and Student Affairs
University of Wisconsin School of Public Health
harley@uwm.edu

Karen Hopcia, ScD, APRN-BC, COHN-S, FAAOHN
Associate Director for Shared Services, Budget and Data Analysis
Partners HealthCare Occupational Health Services
khopcia@partners.org

David A. Hurtado, ScD
Assistant Professor, Oregon Institute of Occupational Health Sciences
Oregon Health and Science University
hurtadod@ohsu.edu

Henrik Børsting Jacobsen, PhD
Department of Pain Management and Research
Oslo University Hospital, Norway
heboja@ous-hf.no

Sonja Stoeffel Kerr, PhD
Projektleiterin Evaluation and Qualitat,
Gesundheitsforderung Schweiz, Bern Switzerland
sonja.stoffel@gmail.com

Lauren Murphy, PhD
User Researcher
Spotify
lmurphy@spotify.com

Candace Nelson, ScD
Information Access and Dissemination Manager
Massachusetts Department of Public Health
candace.nelson@massmail.state.ma.us

Susan Peters, PhD, BOccThy(Hons)
Research Associate
Center for Community-Based Research, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
sepeters@hsph.harvard.edu

Lisa Quintiliani
Associate Professor
Boston University School of Public Health
lmquinti@bu.edu

Silje Reme, PsyD, PhD
Professor of Psychology
University of Oslo
s.e.reme@psykologi.uio.no

Erika Sabbath, ScD
Associate Professor
Boston College Graduate School of Social Work
sabbathe@bc.edu

Grace Sembajwe, DSc, MSc
Associate Professor and Epidemiologist
Hofstra University, Feinstein Institute for Medical Research at Northwell Health
Grace.Sembajwe@sph.cuny.edu

Emily Sparer-Fine, ScD
Director, Occupational Health Surveillance Program
Massachusetts Department of Public Health
Emily.Sparer-Fine@state.ma.us

Sara L. Tamers, PhD, MPH
Office for Total Worker Health Coordination and Research Support
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
stamers@cdc.gov

Torill Helene Tvieto, PhD
Research Group Leader, Uni Health, Uni Research, Bergen, Norway
Professor of Health Promotion, Buskerud and Vestfold University College, Horten, Norway
torill.tveito@uni.no

Jessica Williams, PhD
Assistant Professor
University of Kansas Medical Center
jwilliams13@kumc.edu